Koran (Qur'an)Law (Shar'iah)Tradition (Sunnah)
This is the "Start Here" page of the "Islamic Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Islamic Studies  

This Research Guides provides access to resources at Marquette Libraries and on the Internet about the Islam and the Mideast.
Last Updated: Jul 7, 2014 URL: http://marquette.v1.libguides.com/islamicstudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Preview

This Research Guide provides ready access to resources at Raynor Memorial Libraries for the study of Islam. Click on the tabs in the top row above to locate particular kinds of material you want, such as books or articles.  The tabs in the second row describe disciplines, such as philosophy or sociology. The topical pages lead you to books in our library about that subject. 

Boxes on this Page

Frequently Used Online Resources
Subject Searches in MARQCAT

Advanced Keyword Screen
Search Techniques: Using Boolean Operators--a Video
Research Guide for MENA
Quick Library Links

Need Help?

Research Guide for Middle East and North Africa

This guide addresses both contemporary and historical issues about this area of the world.

Need Help?

 

IM from your service:
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian:
414.288-7556

Email a Librarian:
askus@marquette.edu

Request an Appointment:
Research Consultation

Stop by In-person:
Service Hours

 

Frequently Used Online Resources

Index Islamicus, the standard index of scholarship on Islam
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies, social sciences
Oxford Islamic Studies Online, extensive materials
Encyclopaedia of Islam, for reference searches

ATLA, for articles in theology
Philosophers Index, for articles in philosophy
Historical Abstracts, for articles in history
Sociological Abstracts, for articles in sociology
Political Science Abstracts, for articles in political science
Abstracts in Anthropology, for articles in anthropology

JSTOR, for articles in numerous academic disciplines


 

Subject Searches in MARQCAT

Subject searches in MARQCAT use standard categories applied to the records in our catalog.  This type of searching can be very useful for getting exactly what you want, but you have to use the correct terms.  Islam is a standard category that you can combine with other terms, using Boolean Operators.  (See the last box in this column.)

In the Advanced Keyword Screen below change the first two search windows to Subject using the blue dropdown arrow to the right of the window marked "Any Field."  Enter Islam in the first and encyclopedias in the second.  (They don't have to be underlined.)  The windows are linked by a Boolean And.  You will get a set of encyclopedias on Islam.  You can do this with other kinds of books, such as dictionaries.

Try another.  Change the first window to Subject, but leave the second as Any Field, which is a Keyword search that will find any word you enter wherever it appears in the record.  Enter Islam as your Subject and philosophy as your Keyword.  Using Islam as a Subject makes sure that your results are really about that faith.  You will get over 250 hits.  You may want to reduce your results by limiting them to English or to books published after a certain date, such as 1990.  Those limits will get you just over 130 hits.  Or limit your search with another Keyword.

If you want to do a Subject search from our homepage, click on Search by: Title.... below the search window.  Then click on Subject in the column to the left, or use the blue dropdown arrow in the window marked Title to the left of the main search box.

 

Advanced Keyword Screen

MARQCAT Advanced Keyword Searching

Advanced Keyword Search

Please fill in the boxes, select limits, and click
Submit (or choose a Simple Keyword Search):

 

Search Techniques: Using Boolean Operators-- a 3 minute video

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2013 Marquette University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip